Mooresville, North Carolina
Affordable, Convenient, and Effective
Contractor Exam Licensing Program

Understanding NASCLA: A Gateway to Streamlined Contractor Licensing


Navigating the complexities of contractor licensing in the United States can be a daunting task for many professionals in the construction industry. This is where the National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA) plays a pivotal role. NASCLA is a nonprofit organization that aims to simplify the licensing process for contractors across multiple states. This blog post delves into what NASCLA is, its significance, and how it benefits contractors.

What is NASCLA?

NASCLA stands for the National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies, an organization formed to promote best practices and streamline the licensing process for contractors. Established in 1962, NASCLA advocates for mutual understanding and cooperation among various state licensing agencies. The association comprises members from state agencies that have enacted laws regulating the business of contracting.

The NASCLA Accredited Examination

One of the key contributions of NASCLA is the NASCLA Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors. This standardized test is accepted in multiple participating states for commercial general building contractor licensing. The exam covers a wide range of topics pertinent to the construction industry, including project management, financial management, safety, labor laws, and more.

Benefits of the NASCLA Accredited Exam

  1. Reciprocity Among States: Once you pass the NASCLA accredited exam, several states recognize this accreditation, eliminating the need to pass further commercial general building contractor exams in those states.
  2. Efficiency in Licensing: It streamlines the process for contractors planning to operate in multiple states, saving time and resources.
  3. Standardization of Qualifications: Ensures a consistent standard of competency and knowledge across different states.

States Accepting the NASCLA Exam

As of 2024, numerous states accept the NASCLA accredited exam, including but not limited to Arizona, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Contractors should check with the NASCLA and individual state licensing boards for the most current information.

How to Prepare for the NASCLA Exam

Preparing for the NASCLA exam involves a thorough understanding of various aspects of the construction industry. NASCLA offers resources and study materials to help candidates prepare. Additionally, many private institutions provide exam preparation courses.


For contractors looking to expand their operations across state lines, understanding and utilizing NASCLA can be immensely beneficial. It not only streamlines the process of obtaining licenses in multiple states but also establishes a standard of knowledge and competence that is recognized across member states. As the construction industry continues to evolve, organizations like NASCLA play a crucial role in promoting efficiency and uniformity in contractor licensing.


Special of the Week
Like us on facebook to receive special offers weekly
Purchase Your
Contractor Book

Order by Noon for
Same Day Shipping